What Should You Do if You’re Injured by an Uninsured Driver in Mississippi?
Having car insurance is the law in Mississippi, but that doesn’t mean that everyone follows it. An estimated 22.9% of all drivers in Mississippi do not have car insurance, according to the Insurance Information Institute. Mississippi is among the highest in the country.
You May Be Covered to An Extent
Under Mississippi law, all drivers are required to carry insurance that covers at least $25,000 for bodily injury to another person and an additional $25,000 for property damage. Drivers are required to carry proof of this insurance at all times.
On top of that, Mississippi requires all car insurance policies contain an uninsured motorist provision. Uninsured motorist coverage protects you in the event you are involved in an auto accident with a driver that is not insured or has less insurance than you have. You are required to have uninsured motorist coverage unless you specifically opt out of that coverage by signing something in writing with your insurance coverage. Insurance companies often decline to pay or make only small offers. An attorney can assist you with maximizing the recovery you deserve for your injuries.
If Insurance Doesn’t Cover Everything, You May Have Other Options
Uninsured motorist coverage in Mississippi is often complicated. For example, sometimes you can “stack” insurance policies from other vehicles not involved in the accident to help compensate for your damanges. Also, if you are injured by a driver who doesn’t carry insurance and your own uninsured motorist coverage won’t cover all of your bills, you may be able to recover from another party that was partially responsible for the driver’s conduct.
For example, if the driver was a deliveryman or running an errand as part of his or her job duties, you may be able to sue the driver’s employer under the theory of third-party liability. Mississippi law also prevents bartenders from over serving patrons who appear to be intoxicated. If an uninsured driver hits you while intoxicated and on his way home from a bar, you may have a claim against the server and bar.
Every case is unique and uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage often involves difficulties, so you should speak with an attorney who handles personal injury cases before filing a lawsuit, but just because a driver was uninsured at the time of an accident, that doesn’t mean that you lack options to pursue recovery from other sources.
Can We Help You?
If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident, you need experienced legal representation on your side to ensure you are fairly compensated for the injuries you’ve sustained. Contact The Law Offices of Judy Guice in Biloxi today for a free consultation about how to best proceed with your case.